My 2023 FF – ARC R12FF TRF Blue

I already posted a couple of photos of this on Facebook a few days ago, and promised I would write a blog post on it when I have time, so here we are.

If you have followed this blog for the past few years, you will know that after my special made TRF FF, I have run first the ARC R11F, and for the past two summers the ARC R12FF.

I have been super happy with the ARC cars, and with no exciting new FF kits on the horizon for now (are you listening Tamiya??), I was faced with the question of what to run this year, as summer is luckily not that far away anymore. As I want to run a proper FF car, my conclusion was that there is still no better FF on the market than the R12FF, and since I have spare and option parts already and still feel there are many things I want to try on the car, I made the decision to keep running the R12FF.

After checking how much the parts I wanted to refresh the car would cost, and checking what a new kit costs (329 €), it was pretty easy to decide on getting a new kit. So what you see here is a brand new kit, with re-used option parts.

After two seasons of running the same car, I also had in mind that I wanted to do something special to it, to fool me into liking it even more 🙂

The big hope has for (too) many years now of course been a new Tamiya FF, but with Tamiya proving a even slower than usual in making this reality, the next best thing was to make the best FF at least look like a TRF kit!

Most of the alu parts have hence been re-anodised Tamiya blue, and I was mostly happy about the outcome. The only parts that are not perfect are the damper parts, since they are of a low grade aluminium.

The car is set up like I ended last season, so all the option parts used then are re-fitted onto this new kit. These include the low towers, ATS rear suspension, flex plate, ARC SRS servo, low friction diff, different rollbars etc.

I also use blue alu screws and turnbuckles from Tamiya.

On the ARC cars, the only part I have never really liked is the double joint driveshafts, as I always felt that they’re not precise or sturdy enough.

That’s why I during the winter checked if the Tamiya DCJ’s from the TRF420X would fit, and I was happy to see that they fit perfectly (of course needs to be proven on track). Therefore I upgraded the new R12FF with a set of these driveshafts as well

So far the money spent on re-anodising it Tamiya blue has been well worth it, as I now love the look of the car!

Overall a good way to inject even more motivation for the coming summer 🙂

Posted on March 18, 2023, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Beautiful, where did you do this blue anodising ?

  2. Just a local guy who does this. Google is your best friend in fining someone I guess.

  3. Nice work, I was wondering why don’t they place the Servo and ESC more away from the center so the Lipo can be in the middle and more weight forward?

    I don’t know if anyone has ever tried that, maybe it has some big disadvantages I don’t realize yet.

    It is a shame we have more fan based Tamiya FF car’s on track than the FF05 we waiting for. Tamiya made the original fun to drive FWD rc car and now there is a revival they are silent?

    And they have so much experience with building them.

  4. I have found this to be a good layout to get the desired weight balance. Of course the R12FF is quite flexible with the layout, so you could place the ESC on the right side beside the servo and then run the battery lengthwise behind in the middle, or transverse behind – so there are a couple of good options. When I tested these on the previous R11F I prefered the setup I now run on the R12FF. This also allows the use of the flex plate, which is a really useful tuning option.

    Totally agree on Tamiya and FF!

  5. I actually meant wouldn’t it be beneficial to maybe move servo to the side and ESC on a flex plate and actually have the LiPo more forward between the 2? (Maybe in a ideal world the Servo to the right side and ESC to the left for shortest possible cable lengths

    I have not seen anyone do it yet, but always wondered if it wouldn’t be even better for the balance as then the battery is more forward, or it would allow a bigger LiPo while still maintaining proper balance.

  6. Yes, I understood that’s what you meant, and my reply was written with this in mind. Sorry if I was not clear.

  1. Pingback: Testing of TRF Blue ARC R12FF | BLOG KENTECH

  2. Pingback: TRF Blue ARC R12FF – Mid Season Update | BLOG KENTECH

  3. Pingback: ARC R12FF Summer 2023 Report | BLOG KENTECH

Leave a comment