Testing the ZooRacing Baybee

With the local carpet track now closed for this winter, I will do a few posts about what I have been testing lately, starting now with the ZooRacing Baybee body, which I already did a presentation blog post about earlier.

I already posted the key information, i.e. laptimes, from these tests on Facebook. You’ll find the same laptime info in this post as well.

zoobtestb1

The track which I have done all testing on is this – a small (25x14m) track (run anti-clockwise) with usually fairly low grip. I have run my TRF420 with a Muchmore 13.5T with locked timing (ETS), blinky ESC and 5.0 gearing.

wtest20

As you can see from the results below, it’s all quite close between the bodies. Possibly on a larger track there would be larger gaps.

zoobtest1

Comparing the DBX and Baybee, the DBX is more nimble and quicker in direction changes. The Baybee has a lot of steering, but the rear end is still very secure, and it feels like it produces more (most) downforce. Sometimes you have to wait a bit for the change of direction with the Baybee. The front tyre temperature would always be about 1.5 deg colder with the Baybee compared to the DBX, while rear tyre temperature would be the same.

zoobtest2

To conclude – with me driving my car on that track, the differences in results are so small that I would choose between these bodies according to current track conditions. If there is a trend, it’s that the Baybee was slightly faster for me, and quite easy to be consistent with. The Bittydesign Hyper works really well also, and in feel it’s somewhere between the DBX and Baybee as well.

Finally – as always with these things – remember that these results are with me driving my car, in these particular conditions.

Posted on March 3, 2020, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a comment